BBC66: Korika and the Sepsilyx Fungus

Vexwing

Hello everyone, I've been signed up for a while but this is my first time actually posting. I happened to notice the building contest and I figured I'd cobble something together before the deadline. The brain theme made me think of that parasitic "zombie fungus" that affects ants, so I thought I'd whip up a MOC based on it. So without further ado, here's my entry.

Koriki_01.jpg

Koriki_03.jpg

IMG_2635.jpg

Koriki_07.jpg

Sepsilyx_01.jpg

Full gallery on Flickr

Koriki are a breed of insectoid rahi native to the Southern continent of the Matoran Universe. While these rahi posess a large, and comparatively complex brain amongst other insectoid species, each member posesses very little in the way of singular intelligence. Rather, their brains are adapted to telepathically tune into a collective hive mind shared with the rest of the colony.

Makuta Mutran, the original creator of this species, had recently been ordered my Teridax to find a way to forcibly bring the Matoran under the control of the Brotherhood. While the Makuta possessed the ability to control insects and other Rahi at will, Sapient species like the Matoran proved problematic. Exposure to antidermis was one method that had proved effective at enslaving a Matoran's will, albeit temorarily. Taking this into consideration, Mutran devised a paristoidal lifeform forged from antidermis itself. This organism would hijack a host's brain and give it one sigular purpose: spread the infection to others. Once the population was infected the Mukuta could utilize their link with the antidermis to make the host organisms slaves to their will.