The Last Memories - Onua Mata's Prequel Short Story

joev14

the_last_memories.jpg

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting here in the short stories area. So I tried my hand at writing shorter fiction, and I'm actually enjoying it a lot, I might do this more often rather than always doing full-length epics. This is a Short Story I wrote called the Last Memories, a short narrative by Toa Mata Onua.

As for explanation of the actual Short Story, I've always wanted to write a story about the Toa Mata before they were put into stasis and sent to the island of Mata Nui. Unfortunately, Greg beat me to it in Swamp of Secrets. However, where he ended, there's a lot more that could still be added. Personally, I wouldn't have trusted Tahu and Kopaka when they told me to get into those canisters, so I figured at least one person on the team wouldn't either. I chose Onua, because I think that he's probably the character that gets the least attention of the six Toa. It seems everyone likes to talk about Tahu and Kopaka the most, with Lewa and Gali coming in at a very close second. But then we've got Pohatu and Onua, who barely get any attention in the original books, and get an average amount of attention in the newer ones. Which is very sad in my opinion, because those two are my favorite characters (Pohatu and Onua). I've also always wanted to have an explanation as for why the Toa Mata are called the Toa Mata. I mean, sure they landed on the island of Mata Nui, but if we followed the way most Toa are named, they would be called the Toa Karda or something. So I wanted to explain that as well.

I'm going to stop babbling now about why I wrote this, so you can actually read it for yourself, enjoy! And pleeeeease give me some feedback, I want to know how well I did at writing my first short story. :biggrin:

The Last Memories