Hunter's Game

Protodite Karzahni

As is most often the case with my targets, the Steltian Elyxis hadn’t been expecting it. He stood not ten bio away from myself, exposed in the narrow corridor of the alleyway we stood in. With a nervous darting of his eyes, he looked around and warily held his sword aloft as though he could and would slice the very air itself to shreds if it dared so much as shift. He took each step with only the most immeasurable concern belonging to one who had just been alerted to some unfamiliar presence, a presence most likely belonging to the assassin who now watched from the shadows.

Of course, it wasn’t some clumsy action or fatal mishap that had set him on edge. Such an act is for the amateurs. In my profession, I am an artist, each stroke performed with unequivocal mastery yet accentuated by an enviable ease. I perform every little detail of what I do with a purpose in mind. I sent the set of tablets crashing to the floor because I wanted to see the way he reacted to fear. It was my desire to find out which of his instincts would kick in first. Fight or flight? Honour or preservation? Surrender or run?

It would seem that, for now, honour had won out.

For the time being I lurk here on the shadow’s edge, just out of his sight and yet always present. He knew I was here. He would know me as the shiver down his spine, always there yet never quite detectable. I was at one with the shadows, letting its claws envelop me until I was no more than a conscience resting in the dark void.