BBC Contest #69: Visorak Oohnorak

Munty

Hi all, I've never done anything like this before but I saw the post for BBC Contest 69 a while ago and for some reason my immediate thought was to build a visorak for it! I guess I figured the Skull Spider's legs would be a good place to start from and originally thought about making a red one as Tahu has 3 of the large torso armour pieces to make a quick easy shell. In the end I had to go with black though as that's the colour of the LoSS legs! So it turns out this week has got off to a pretty bad start to me and I decided to take a break this evening and dismantle Onua and LoSS to have a go at making a Visorak!

I think this turned out pretty well but I'm not over the moon with the gaps around the neck area and I wish the pincers retained more of their function. The rhotuka also seems a little small since I've upscaled the set slightly but I don't think that can be helped. I tried to keep the new build as close to the original as possible while using as few of the old pieces as I could. The eyes, fangs, knees and spinner parts are all from an actual Oohnorak set while most other components are from my new 2015 Bionicle sets. Some other technic parts were taken from my spares box but it's probably about 75% CCBS I think. It also uses Oohnorak's torso/skeleton piece as a base for attaching the pincers but looking at this now I think it could probably be improved. I can't change it once I post here (as far as the contest goes) but I will try and fix it at a later date to create a more attractive set I think! 

EDIT : I almost forgot to mention, the rhotuka spinner has full function! I wasn't sure I'd be able to incorporate it but always intended to try! In the end I managed to get the look I want and just slightly lowering the two front side armour pieces allows the ripcord to be used easily! Score one for the Visorak :P