Sherlock Holmes And The Missing Christmas Presents

Kumata

Sherlock Holmes and the Missing Christmas Presents

A COT SSC#4 entry and Sherlock Holmes fanfiction

Upon looking through the numerous records I, Doctor John H. Watson, hold of the many singular cases my friend Sherlock Holmes has undertaken over the years, it is surprising to me that a percentage of them have occurred during the season of Christmas. Perhaps there is something about the spirit of the season that causes people to behave in an out-of-ordinary fashion; I have no authority to say for certain, for I am a Doctor of the body and not the mind.The case that I choose to reproduce here is one that, as usual, I believe highlights the remarkable powers of perception possessed by my friend and his rather unique skill at applying those skills to solve any problem, no matter how trivial. The criminal scale of such problems rarely mattered to Holmes; his concern was only whether each case presented notable features so as to be of interest to his keen mind.It was early on the morning of Christmas day - so early that we had not yet breakfasted - that Holmes and I were visited, at our rooms on Baker Street, by a most distressed young gentlemen. The two of us were sitting in chairs before a roaring fireplace, the heat of the flames and the cloth of our gowns defending us against the icy atmosphere of the winter season. I was engrossed in the morning paper whilst Holmes added tobacco to the new pipe he had received from me as a Christmas present. His bright eyes were narrowed as he performed the delicate operation, though they swept to the doorway when our visitor was shown in.“My apologies for disturbing you at so early an hour, gentlemen, and on Christmas day at that,” said the man, who looked to me to be no older than thirty, and sporting a modest moustache much like my own. His paleness appeared to me to be not an effect of the cold weather, but of his own shaken nerves. “The fact is that I cannot afford to