How do We Know When a Prototype/Rare Mask is Real? Why is Authentication Never An Issue?

Hello everyone! Relatively new collector here and I have a few questions. Mainly, why don't people make fake prototypes? How do we know people don't do this? To be clear, I'm not suspecting people of selling fake masks. Clearly I'm the noob here, not them. 

Socketball (among others) have perfected resin printing masks. I believe that actual masks are injection molded, and would thus show evidence of this process. And yet, when new prototypes/color variants are discovered with no ownership history, no authentication is required. They just get added to the rares thread and people throw thousands at them. Is it possible to "fake" injection molding sites? Would making an injection mold of a mask be too tedious/expensive? I assume this would take a massive piece of machinery. But, still, not beyond the pale, right?

Here's the thread that made me start to wonder. This guy shows up with a prototype Hau. It's a color no masks have been printed in, and a texture no masks have been printed in. He also claims it's a different material than other masks. And yet, according to him, it sold almost instantly. 

https://www.bzpower.com/topic/35330-kanohi-and-krana-for-sale/

Here's another example. Five new prototypes show up, no chain of custody (IE nobody is like "Yeah mask collector got them from Binkmeister in 2009" or whatever) but they're all taken at face value. Someone told me (well, implied) that LEGO uses their own material. Is that true? Can it not be replicated due to a "secret recipe"? Anyway just searching for answers. 

TL;DR if Socketball made a fake prototype, how would we know?

Edited by The Archivist
  • Upvote 1

2 hours ago, The Archivist said:

Mainly, why don't people make fake prototypes? How do we know people don't do this?