The Legend Continues -- The First and the Last

RWallace

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting a story here.  It's for "The Legend Continues" contest.

The beginning of my story takes place during the "Quest for Unity" episode of the Netflix series and then there's a time jump that takes place after the series ends.  It should be obvious where that is.

Please let me know what you think. :)

---

Gali followed Lewa through the jungle, the words of Ekimu running through her head.  You know so little of your powers…

Lewa turned around and put his hand on her shoulder.  “What’s the matter, sister?  Your eyes look dark-serious.”

“It’s nothing,” Gali replied with a false smile, not wanting to trouble him with her worries.  But Lewa gave her a blank look and waited for her to continue.  “It’s just--I thought Ekimu would give us more answers after we revived him.  Why hasn’t he told us more about our destiny?”

Lewa shrugged.  “He told us what we need to know.  He can give us guidance, but our destinies are our own.”

“That’s true,” Gali agreed.  “And speaking of destiny, it is here that we must part ways.  I have an elemental creature I’m destined to find, as do you.  Safe journey, brother.”

Gali swam through the depths, past rocks and seaweed, searching for the elemental creature she had seen in her vision.

Not here.  I need to swim farther out.

Then a sound, like a whisper, passed through her ears as if it were carried there by the water itself.  “This has all happened before...”

Gali paused and circled about herself for the source of the words, but there wasn’t a soul in sight.

“Who’s there?” she called out, uncertain.

No response.

Gali cautiously glided forward, resuming her search for the elemental creature.  But then the whisper came again.  “This has all happened before...and it will happen again.”