Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Welcome to BZPower!

Hi there, while we hope you enjoy browsing through the site, there's a lot more you can do if you register. The process is easy and you can use your Google, Facebook, or Twitter account to make it even faster. Some perks of joining include:
  • Create your own topics, participate in existing discussions, and vote in polls
  • Show off your creations, stories, art, music, and movies and play member and staff-run games
  • Enter contests to win free LEGO sets and other prizes, and vote to decide the winners
  • Participate in raffles, including exclusive raffles for new members, and win free LEGO sets
  • Send private messages to other members
  • Organize with other members to attend or send your MOCs to LEGO fan events all over the world
  • Much, much more!
Enjoy your visit!

Photo

Pictures Topic

Updated 7/24/14

  • Please log in to reply
116 replies to this topic

#81 Offline Zorglorfian

Zorglorfian
  • Members
  • Makuta Conquered!

  • 561 posts
  •  

Posted May 10 2012 - 02:22 AM

Recently Windrider thumbnailed my large image. How do I thumbnail something myself? Thanks!
  • 0
Credit to Moist! from the Spectral Avohkii Enterprises for the super sig!

^The Chronicles of Chandu: ElementElites, Ivu, Equinox. An epic written by cylex7^
"I applaud your valiant ways in the face of futility." - Makuta Kazyx, CoC

Chapter 6 of CoC ElementElites is up!!! Please review!

#82 Offline Reznas

Reznas
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mata Nuian Protector Nuva

  • 1,760 posts
  •  

Posted May 10 2012 - 05:03 AM

Recently Windrider thumbnailed my large image. How do I thumbnail something myself? Thanks!

By making a smaller version of the image, and linking it to the larger version on whatever site it's uploaded to. -RezEDIT: You can also take a part of an image, such as the head/mask, and use that as the thumbnail. You may need to resize still, however. Hope this helps! :)

Edited by -Reznas-, May 10 2012 - 10:49 AM.

  • 0

rc_banner.png


#83 Offline -Windrider-

-Windrider-
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Global Moderators
  • Literally Kagome

  • 5,348 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted May 10 2012 - 11:50 AM

In addition, if you are uploading to Brickshelf or Majhost (and I believe Photobucket as well), the site will do all the work for you. When viewing the folder to which you have uploaded your images, you will notice that the array of images on the page is comprised of thumbnails. Right-click the image that you need, and copy the image location. You now have the URL of the image's thumbnail. For Bshelf and Majhost, it should look like this:
http://www.majhost.com/gallery/your username/folder name/thumb/image name.extension_thumb.jpg
When I need to thumbnail an oversize image, I just go into the BBCode of the post and use the formula above: after having copied the original URL, I place "/thumb" after the folder name and "thumb.jpg" at the end. The thumbnails will always be JPEGs. I then make the thumbnail link to the original image using the original URL that I copied.

  • 0

#84 Offline Baltarc

Baltarc
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • FFM OTC Winner

  • 1,706 posts
  •  

Posted May 28 2012 - 08:50 AM

Back when the new forums came online, avatars had to be over 200x200 to work properly, right? Did this change with the recent upgrade? Because my avatar is 168x176 and it works fine.
  • 0

quetzalbanner01.jpg


#85 Offline Sumiki

Sumiki
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Forum Assistants
  • Hat Enterprises CEO

  • 11,136 posts
  •   BZP Assistant

Posted May 28 2012 - 09:13 AM

That issue was fixed before the most recent upgrade.
  • 0

farmanimalbanner.png


#86 Online Gatanui

Gatanui
  • Reporters
  • Senior News Finder

  • 10,943 posts
  •   BZP Reporter

Posted May 28 2012 - 09:18 AM

Back when the new forums came online, avatars had to be over 200x200 to work properly, right? Did this change with the recent upgrade? Because my avatar is 168x176 and it works fine.

Avatars always worked properly with a size lower than 200x200 px, it´s just that there were issues with updating the avatar in the profile if the size was lower. That has been fixed with the past upgrade already.-Gata Posted Image

  • 0
Please don't use my avatar without permission, thanks ^_^

#87 Offline Grantaire

Grantaire
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mask of Light Unveiled

  • 5,048 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 13 2012 - 02:57 PM

I'm having a problem with my banners... I used the standard url image, but when I click the picture it opens the URL of the picture in another tab, not the topic I had linked. Anyone know why this is happening?
  • 0

#88 Offline Colette Llyan

Colette Llyan
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Disintegration Resolved

  • 6,991 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 13 2012 - 03:00 PM

Hmm; did you double check the url for the link? Obviously the banner URL is correct, but if you accidentally copy/pasted the wrong URL at one point, or thought you copied it, and instead pasted the previous URL, that would cause the problems.However, I can't really give a proper answer, since I'm not sure of the coding of your signature./EDIT: Wait, you do have a url tag around the images, right? Because I'm not getting any hover preview when I put my cursor over the banners...

Edited by Pit: Arrow of Light, Jun 13 2012 - 03:01 PM.

  • 0

#89 Offline Sumiki

Sumiki
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Forum Assistants
  • Hat Enterprises CEO

  • 11,136 posts
  •   BZP Assistant

Posted Jun 13 2012 - 03:01 PM

Your code should be like this:
[url="TOPIC"][img]PICTURE[/img][/url]
If it's like this, and still happens, I suggest posting the code to your signature in code tags so we can see the issue.

  • 0

farmanimalbanner.png


#90 Offline Grantaire

Grantaire
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mask of Light Unveiled

  • 5,048 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 13 2012 - 03:05 PM

[acronym=My first vote.][url="http://www.bzpower.com/board/index.php?showtopic=5222&#entry293945"][img]http://www.majhost.com/gallery/zarayna/RPG/SFTS/copy_of_strike_from_the_shadows.jpg[/img][/url][/acronym]
Posted Image

  • 0

#91 Offline Bfahome

Bfahome
  • Premier Member
    BioniLUG Member
  • Premier Blog Assistants
  • DJ Kumo

  • 5,926 posts
  •   BZP Assistant

Posted Jun 13 2012 - 03:07 PM

I believe the problem is with the acronym tags.Posted Image
[url="http://www.bzpower.com/board/index.php?showtopic=5222&#entry293945"][acronym=My first vote.][img]http://www.majhost.com/gallery/zarayna/RPG/SFTS/copy_of_strike_from_the_shadows.jpg[/img][/acronym][/url]
Yup. Put the acronym tags inside the url tags and it should work fine.

  • 0

stand still, pause clocks

we_can_make_the_world_stop.jpg

We Can Make The World Stop


#92 Offline Grantaire

Grantaire
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mask of Light Unveiled

  • 5,048 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 14 2012 - 09:35 AM

That was it, it works now. Thanks!
  • 0

#93 Offline Obsessionist

Obsessionist
  • Premier Member
    BioniLUG Member
  • Premier Members
  • Emerging Fluidic Master

  • 1,273 posts
  •  

Posted Aug 02 2012 - 03:17 PM

MOCpages had a crash a while back where many users lost their images. Now, I am one of the lucky few whose images (22 MOCs worth) are still lost, and not retrievable at all. My PC died shortly after the crash, I can't re-upload the pictures either. Some of the creations were posted on BZP, though. I know that they were hosted elsewhere, but would BZP have any files saved or something? At least one of the creations was in a BBCC, would that entail a BBC staff having an image somewhere? This is my last hope to get any of these back, any help or images at all would be appreciated.
  • 0

1395440177m_SPLASH.jpg


#94 Online Gatanui

Gatanui
  • Reporters
  • Senior News Finder

  • 10,943 posts
  •   BZP Reporter

Posted Aug 02 2012 - 03:21 PM

MOCpages had a crash a while back where many users lost their images. Now, I am one of the lucky few whose images (22 MOCs worth) are still lost, and not retrievable at all. My PC died shortly after the crash, I can't re-upload the pictures either. Some of the creations were posted on BZP, though. I know that they were hosted elsewhere, but would BZP have any files saved or something? At least one of the creations was in a BBCC, would that entail a BBC staff having an image somewhere? This is my last hope to get any of these back, any help or images at all would be appreciated.

Your chance may be asking the host who posted the contest polls, they may have saved for creating the thumbnails.-Gata Posted Image

  • 0
Please don't use my avatar without permission, thanks ^_^

#95 Offline Makuta DUSt

Makuta DUSt
  • Members
  • Scavenger

  • 617 posts
  •  

Posted Aug 06 2012 - 10:35 AM

I have drawn a picture with no constraction figures in it, just Lego men and blocks. Where do I post this, General Art or another place?Also, how do I reduce the size of a picture into under 800x300 pixels?
  • 0

#96 Offline Reznas

Reznas
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mata Nuian Protector Nuva

  • 1,760 posts
  •  

Posted Aug 06 2012 - 10:44 AM

I have drawn a picture with no constraction figures in it, just Lego men and blocks. Where do I post this, General Art or another place?Also, how do I reduce the size of a picture into under 800x300 pixels?

As quoted from the General Art rules and guidelines:

Since June 2011 all four Artwork forums are now open to LEGO artwork in general, not just Bionicle artwork. So Hero Factory, Atlantis, City, whatever, it all goes in one of these four forum divisions.

So to answer your question, General Art would be the way to go.-Rez

Edited by .:Reznas:., Aug 06 2012 - 10:44 AM.

  • 0

rc_banner.png


#97 Online Gatanui

Gatanui
  • Reporters
  • Senior News Finder

  • 10,943 posts
  •   BZP Reporter

Posted Aug 06 2012 - 03:34 PM

I have drawn a picture with no constraction figures in it, just Lego men and blocks. Where do I post this, General Art or another place?Also, how do I reduce the size of a picture into under 800x300 pixels?

For actually resizing it, you need an image-editing software. Free software you can try is MS Paint, Paint.NET or GIMP.-Gata Posted Image

  • 0
Please don't use my avatar without permission, thanks ^_^

#98 Online ~Shockwave~

~Shockwave~
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Outstanding BZP Citizens
  • Submerged!

  • 1,198 posts
  •   Outstanding BZPower Citizen

Posted Oct 03 2012 - 06:09 PM

ok, so I would like to change my profile pic/avatar. but it doesn't seem to like flickr's url for it, and i cannot copy paste it.Help?
  • 0

fs_overall.png

3DS Freind Code: 1693-0634-1082 Name: Joey

I also have Mario Kart 7, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, Pokemon Y and Kid Icarus: Uprising

PM me to add me. 

Steam profile

Click here for the BZP Destiny Group


#99 Offline Reznas

Reznas
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Members
  • Mata Nuian Protector Nuva

  • 1,760 posts
  •  

Posted Oct 03 2012 - 11:06 PM

ok, so I would like to change my profile pic/avatar. but it doesn't seem to like flickr's url for it, and i cannot copy paste it.Help?

Make sure to deeplink the image so that you're not linking to anything with the site's background behind it. If that doesn't work, just use brickshelf or something. It may be a problem with flicker.-Rez

  • 0

rc_banner.png


#100 Online ~Shockwave~

~Shockwave~
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Outstanding BZP Citizens
  • Submerged!

  • 1,198 posts
  •   Outstanding BZPower Citizen

Posted Oct 03 2012 - 11:26 PM

ok, so I can save it, just had to explore a little more. thanks!
  • 0

fs_overall.png

3DS Freind Code: 1693-0634-1082 Name: Joey

I also have Mario Kart 7, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, Pokemon Y and Kid Icarus: Uprising

PM me to add me. 

Steam profile

Click here for the BZP Destiny Group


#101 Offline -Windrider-

-Windrider-
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Global Moderators
  • Literally Kagome

  • 5,348 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Dec 12 2012 - 11:01 PM

So some things have changed with the BBCode. The code used to insert images has changed to this:

[IMG=URL of image here]

However, things have been really buggy lately and I recommend that everyone use the rich text editor buttons to insert images into posts:

Click the Posted Image button and paste in the image's URL.

 

To turn an image into a link using the RTE, first insert your image. Select it by clicking on it and then click the Posted Image button and paste in the URL of the link.


Edited by -Windrider-, Dec 12 2012 - 11:13 PM.

  • 0

#102 Offline Indigogeek

Indigogeek
  • Members
  • Stalwart Defender

  • 439 posts
  •  

Posted Apr 04 2013 - 08:35 PM

Hi all, so i've recently decided to be active on bzpower. I attempted to change my signature, adding a picture in, but it just said:

 

Warning[color=rgb(90,90,90);font-size:13px;background-color:rgb(165,168,175);]: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/bzpower/public_html/board/converge_public/applications/core/extensions/usercpForms.php:2313) in[/color]/home/bzpower/public_html/board/converge_public/sources/classes/output/formats/html/htmlOutput.php[color=rgb(90,90,90);font-size:13px;background-color:rgb(165,168,175);] on line [/color]114Warning[color=rgb(90,90,90);font-size:13px;background-color:rgb(165,168,175);]: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/bzpower/public_html/board/converge_public/applications/core/extensions/usercpForms.php:2313) in[/color]/home/bzpower/public_html/board/converge_public/sources/classes/output/formats/html/htmlOutput.php[color=rgb(90,90,90);font-size:13px;background-color:rgb(165,168,175);] on line [/color]127

 

If it helps, here's the photo: http://25.media.tumb...c8ll2o1_500.jpg

 

I have no clue what happening, and I'd love to find out. thanks!  :D


  • 0

                                                 Tu2d6W7.jpg


#103 Offline -Windrider-

-Windrider-
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Global Moderators
  • Literally Kagome

  • 5,348 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Apr 04 2013 - 09:41 PM

How did you attempt to insert the image into your signature? Did you use the rich text editor (Posted Image button) or BBCode IMG tags? In either case, did you use the exact URL that you pasted above?


  • 0

#104 Offline Zeene

Zeene
  • Members
  • Toa

  • 148 posts
  •  

Posted Apr 07 2013 - 06:24 PM

So some things have changed with the BBCode. The code used to insert images has changed to this:

[IMG=URL of image here]
However, things have been really buggy lately and I recommend that everyone use the rich text editor buttons to insert images into posts:Click the Posted Image button and paste in the image's URL. To turn an image into a link using the RTE, first insert your image. Select it by clicking on it and then click the Posted Image button and paste in the URL of the link.

Sorry, but I just don't see how this could be what's causing the issues.First of all, when inserting an image through the RTE (Or, more accurately: WYSIWYG editor), let's just say http://example.com/image.png, it will still result in the BBCode
[img=http://example.com/image.png]
Second, the WYSIWYG editor is an abstraction layer for the Source-mode, not the other way around. It already renders what (should be) the final message, while generating the BBCode used to create said message. If anything, it would either be the WYSIWYG editor generating the incorrect BBCode, or users creating overly complex and/or improperly nested tags.Summarized: How can Source mode be causing the problems, when using the visual implementation in the RTE generates the exact same BBCode?

  • 0

"The rumours of my signature have been greatly exaggerated."


#105 Offline fishers64

fishers64
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Outstanding BZP Citizens
  • Bohrok-Kal Vanquished

  • 4,972 posts
  •   Outstanding BZPower Citizen

Posted Apr 07 2013 - 06:33 PM

The easiest way to insert an image these days is to right-click on an image on your image-hosting site of choice, select "Copy Image" and paste it into the RTE. Works every time. :)


  • 0

14126183966_9690cb0da3_z.jpg


#106 Online Fairy Knight

Fairy Knight
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Outstanding BZP Citizens
  • Mask of Time Discovered

  • 4,036 posts
  •   Outstanding BZPower Citizen

Posted Jun 08 2013 - 07:21 AM

Just a quick question regarding signatures/banner size: I know that they're supposed to be 800x300 px at max, but the problem is that the preview of the signature always includes this line which makes it -just- larger than the supposed size, even though the banner is exactly 300 pixels high.

Posted Image

 

So I was wondering whether the size regulations go by banner size or size of the entire signature including the line. :)

 

EDIT: Also as far as I remember this:

What are the size limits of sigs and avatars?The file size of your avatar and signature may not pass 100 kB COMBINED. Your entire signature is limited to a space of 800x300 pixels. You can use any combination of up to ten images and text to fill this area. Should you use an 800x300 image, however, you will have no room for additional text. Larger images have larger filesizes, so please do always check the file size.

was written before the line was added to the signature preview, which came with one of the updates... well, I'm a bit confused. ^^'


Edited by Taka Nuvia, Jun 08 2013 - 07:26 AM.

  • 0

screenshot_69.jpg

Sometimes appearanes change, but the heart behind them stays the same...


#107 Offline Black Six

Black Six
  • BioniLUG Member
  • BZPower Administrators
  • Lego Ambassador

  • 12,089 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Jun 08 2013 - 04:21 PM

The line was not intentional and has been removed.
  • 0

#108 Offline Kopekemaster

Kopekemaster
  • Members
  • Descending into Protodermis

  • 966 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 11 2013 - 06:10 AM

So here's my question:I recently posted some things in BBC. I just put in links to the images, but they are ~4.5 MB in size (I hosted them on bricklink, by the way).Is that all right? Do the picture limits only apply to pictures embedded on BZP itself?
  • 0

ezgif-save.gif

My Writing Blog (Updated frequently)

My Bionicle/LEGO Blog (Updated frequently)

BZPower Chronicles, my BZP comedy. ~~Finished!~~

Species, my dystopian Bionicle story and its respective Review Topic.


#109 Offline Black Six

Black Six
  • BioniLUG Member
  • BZPower Administrators
  • Lego Ambassador

  • 12,089 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Jun 11 2013 - 06:49 AM

So here's my question:I recently posted some things in BBC.I just put in links to the images, but they are ~4.5 MB in size (I hosted them on bricklink, by the way).Is that all right? Do the picture limits only apply to pictures embedded on BZP itself?

No, that's not alright. Putting a 4.5 MB image in your post takes it longer to load no matter where it's hosted. In the BBC forum you should not be posting images larger than 100 kB. The limit for the rest of the forums is 300 kB. Anything larger than that should be linked to.

  • 0

#110 Offline Kopekemaster

Kopekemaster
  • Members
  • Descending into Protodermis

  • 966 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 11 2013 - 07:20 AM

Sorry, I'm not sure if I worded that very well.

Here is the BBC post, you can see what I'm talking about there:

http://www.bzpower.c...showtopic=10017


  • 0

ezgif-save.gif

My Writing Blog (Updated frequently)

My Bionicle/LEGO Blog (Updated frequently)

BZPower Chronicles, my BZP comedy. ~~Finished!~~

Species, my dystopian Bionicle story and its respective Review Topic.


#111 Offline Black Six

Black Six
  • BioniLUG Member
  • BZPower Administrators
  • Lego Ambassador

  • 12,089 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Jun 11 2013 - 10:22 AM

Okay, I guess a clarification needs to be made between posting and linking to images.Posting an image is embedding an image in a post so it displays when the post loads. The thumbnail in your topic is posted.Linking to an image is inserting the URL of an image as a hyperlink so that when someone clicks on it they are taken to the image. You linked to the images of your MOC in the topic.You can link to any size image. Posting images is limited as I said above.
  • 0

#112 Offline Kopekemaster

Kopekemaster
  • Members
  • Descending into Protodermis

  • 966 posts
  •  

Posted Jun 11 2013 - 11:39 AM

OK, thanks! Now I won't have to keep wondering if I am doing something wrong.
  • 0

ezgif-save.gif

My Writing Blog (Updated frequently)

My Bionicle/LEGO Blog (Updated frequently)

BZPower Chronicles, my BZP comedy. ~~Finished!~~

Species, my dystopian Bionicle story and its respective Review Topic.


#113 Offline Indigogeek

Indigogeek
  • Members
  • Stalwart Defender

  • 439 posts
  •  

Posted Dec 02 2013 - 07:58 PM

I'm trying to get my sig working as an animation (as you can see below it doesn't) I've tried everything for this. i've tried 

    [*][color=rgb(102,102,0);][[/color][color=rgb(0,0,0);]MEDIA[/color][color=rgb(102,102,0);]=[/color][color=rgb(0,0,0);]width[/color][color=rgb(102,102,0);],[/color][color=rgb(0,0,0);]height[/color][color=rgb(102,102,0);]][/color][color=rgb(102,0,102);]URLofFile[/color][color=rgb(102,102,0);][/[/color][color=rgb(0,0,0);]MEDIA[/color][color=rgb(102,102,0);]] and even it with lowercase "MEDIA"s I tried with no dimensions, and the dimensions used (550 100 ) however it just isn't working. Can someone give me a detailed walkthrough of what i'm doing wrong? [/color][/list]
  • 0

                                                 Tu2d6W7.jpg


#114 Offline -Windrider-

-Windrider-
  • Premier Member
  • Premier Global Moderators
  • Literally Kagome

  • 5,348 posts
  •   BZP Staff

Posted Dec 02 2013 - 08:07 PM

You need to add in the http part to the URL - somehow, leaving that out messes up the tags.

[media='550,100']http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/Nuparu77/Avatars/swarm_banr1.swf[/media]

Edited by -Windrider-, Dec 02 2013 - 08:18 PM.

  • 0

#115 Offline Indigogeek

Indigogeek
  • Members
  • Stalwart Defender

  • 439 posts
  •  

Posted Jan 02 2014 - 11:56 AM

Working now, I appreciate it! :)


Trying to change my sig, every time I try to use my image (i've tried sharing it through imgur, and brickshelf) this pops up: You are not allowed to use that image extension on this community.
 
I originally made the photo in paint.net, and tried saving it as a jpg, then a png. I've made sure to make it less then 100 KB, what's going on?
 
 
 
 
Edit: Double post merged to newest post date.
-Wind-

Edited by -Windrider-, Jan 02 2014 - 12:01 PM.

  • 0

                                                 Tu2d6W7.jpg


#116 Offline Bfahome

Bfahome
  • Premier Member
    BioniLUG Member
  • Premier Blog Assistants
  • DJ Kumo

  • 5,926 posts
  •   BZP Assistant

Posted Jan 02 2014 - 12:01 PM

Is the URL in your sig now the one you're trying to embed?  Because that's the page for the image, not the image itself.  This is the deeplinked image.

 

(Otherwise the board thinks you're trying to embed a webpage in your sig.)


  • 0

stand still, pause clocks

we_can_make_the_world_stop.jpg

We Can Make The World Stop


#117 Offline Indigogeek

Indigogeek
  • Members
  • Stalwart Defender

  • 439 posts
  •  

Posted Jan 02 2014 - 07:27 PM

Lol yea thanks, completly missed that.


  • 0

                                                 Tu2d6W7.jpg





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users